The Hemp Industries Association is a nonprofit trade association that is led democratically by volunteer members and governed by its bylaws. Farming and Business members have rights including the right to vote on substantive changes to the bylaws, rights to financial transparency, the right to vote in elections and for awards, and —after two consecutive years of membership— the right to stand for election to the Board.  Director terms are three years, and seats are occupied by current members who are either elected or appointed ex officio to fill vacancies. The Board Officers are The President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary.

The HIA Board of Directors

Hover over a pic for details

Mike Lewis


Mike Lewis, National Center for Appropriate Technology

Elected: 2019 - 2022

Sustainable Agriculture Specialist at National Center for Appropriate Technology, Mike in 2014 became one of the first licensed hemp farmers in the U.S. since Prohibition. He lives in Kentucky with his wife, daughter, and son.

Rick Trojan

Vice President

Rick Trojan, Hemp Road Trip

Elected: 2019 - 2022

Currently Director of Business Development & Supply Chain for CBD Universe, Rick is the founder of Hemp Road Trip and a well-known hemp advocate and sought-after speaker both nationally and internationally.

Anndrea Hermann


Anndrea Hermann, Ridge International Consulting

Anndrea Hermann, The Ridge International Cannabis Consulting

Re-elected: 2022 - 2024

Re-elected to her fourth consecutive term on the HIA's Board, Anndrea is a Canadian hemp licensee who has advised Industry for 20+ years. Among her many roles, she is Principal for The Ridge International Cannabis Consulting, Owner of Hemp Technologies Canada, Director of Inside Sales at Hemp Production Services, and a Founder of iHempRadio.

Rob Davidson


Rob Davidson, Cure Pharmaceuticl

Appointed: 2021 - 2022

Rob is CEO of CURE Pharmaceutical, an innovative drug delivery company based in Oxnard, California developing novel ways to deliver active ingredients, including full spectrum hemp extract. Rob is a part of the HIA because he believes in the mission focus on the environment and the public benefits of hemp.

Lauren Graham


Lauren Graham, Beneficial Blends

Lauren Graham, Beneficial Blends

Elected: 2022 - 2024

Jennifer Knaack


Cannabinoids Seat

Cannabinoids Council Chair Jennifer Knaack, PhD

Jennifer Knaack, Cheef Holdings

Appointed: 2021 - 2022

Jen is VP for Compliance and Science for Cheef Holdings and an advocate for hemp cannabinoids through the U.S. Hemp Roundtable, the California Hemp Council, and the Global Retailer and Manufacturer Alliance. Jen occupies the Cannabinoids Seat on the HIA Board of Directors and is Chair of the Cannabinoids Council.

Jeff Kostuik


Grain and Seed Seat

Jeff Kostuik, Hemp Genetics International

Appointed: 2021 - 2022

Jeff sits in the Grain and Seed seat on the HIA Board and Chairs the Grain and Seed Council. He spent 20 years as an agronomist and hemp contact for the government of Manitoba and managed the Parkland Crop Diversification Foundation. In 2015, he joined Hemp Genetics International and Hemp Production Services, where he is Director of Operations.

Zev Paiss


Fiber and Hurd Seat

HIA Director Zev Paiss is Chair of the Fiber and Hurd Council

Zev Paiss, Abraham Paiss & Associates

Appointed: 2021 - 2022

Zev sits in the Fiber and Hurd seat on the HIA Board, is Chair of the Fiber and Hurd Council, and represents HIA on the ASTM D.37 Cannabis Committee. Zev is an established hemp industry leader and a passionate advocate for the sustainability impacts of hemp farming and hemp products.

La Vonne Peck


La Vonne Peck, Native Network

La Vonne Peck, Native Network Consulting

Appointed: 2021 - 2022

Past Chair of the La Jolla Band of Luiseno Indians, for 20+ years La Vonne has advised tribes on emergency management, oil & gas, water resources, and economic development. She has consulted with more than 25 tribes on their cannabis plans and sits on the CA Cannabis Advisory Committee. La Vonne is focused on the economic opportunities for tribes offered by hemp's sustainable development.

Annie Rouse


Annie Rouse, OP Innovates

Appointed: 2022-2023

A dedicated hemp entrepreneur, educator, and activist, Annie has 10+ years experience building a sustainable hemp supply chain via her manufacturing company OP Innovates, brands Overcome and Hemp Mellow, and online store Anavii Market. She serves on the Boards of HIA, the US Hemp Roundtable, the US Hemp Authority, and the nonprofit she helped found: Friends of Hemp.

Vanessa Snyder


Vanessa Snyder, Eurofins

Vanessa Snyder, Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing

Elected: 2022 - 2024

Christopher Ware


Christopher Ware - CEO, KCA Laboratories

Chris Ware, KCA Laboratories

Elected: 2022-2024

Katelyn Wiard


U.S. Hemp Roundtable Seat

Katelyn Wiard, U.S. Hemp Roundtable

Katelyn Wiard, US Hemp Roundtable

Appointed: 2022-2023

Created by potrace 1.10, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2011

HIA's Staff:

Jody McGinness

Executive Director

Jody has worked for membership nonprofits for more than 20 years, helping organizations to transform in order to better serve their members and their missions. He is passionate about the potential for hemp to bring value to rural communities, to help heal the planet, and to open opportunities to underserved communities. Contact Jody for info on membership, HIA’s governance, HIACON, media inquiries, affiliation/partnership, sponsorship, or to discuss the HIA’s programs and/or strategic direction.

Ryann Hinch

Executive Director, The Hemp Industries Foundation

Ryann has greater than ten years of experience in product marketing, directing campaigns for non-profit organizations, and business development for premium natural CPG brands. She is passionate about the mission of the HIA and an authoritative advocate and speaker on the nutritional benefits of hemp, consumer education, organic agriculture, and the importance of sustainable development. Contact Ryann for expert advice on hemp foods, assistance with Hemp History Week, the Hemp Industries Foundation, consumer education, or agricultural research